Note to New Members ×

step in or toe clip?

Guest Redman

Guest Redman

Being new to hard booting, I would like to know the pros/cons between step in and toe clip binders. I realize step ins may be a little more convenient as you only have to bend down once to release but aside from that, what are the other differences?

Red

I haven't read every back post on this issue (I'll get around to it eventually)...but I just want to go on record as saying, I love the toe-clip F2 bindings I'm using! :) Of course, I'm a beginner...but even the toe-clip bindings are WAY easier to get in/out of than 2-strap soft bindings! (Unless you have Flows, which I guess are a bit easier...) I have no trouble bending over, and I'm 42.

Getting into toe-clips can be almost as fast as step-ins...and I can get out of mine every bit as fast as someone with step-ins. (I just reach down while I'm coasting to a stop and flip the bail---done!)

So I think all the griping about toe-clips is just silly. Step-Ins are fine...but c'mon! Are we that lazy??? (Or suffering from that much "ski binding envy?")

Scott

stepins are easier to "get in", but I would argue that "getting out" is not that much easier. One still needs to bend and reach the handle, which is somewhere under the pants (unless you got customized pants pipes) and pull it. You might as well bend 15 inches lower and reach the clip.

Used to have stepins. changed them to toe clips for reasons already mentioned so many times.

Guest Randy S.

I've been a huge fan of step-ins for the past few years. I even modified my pants so that I don't have to bend down to release.