Note to New Members ×

Volkl 173RT vs. F2 silberpfeil 172

kmartshopper

Stats: Edge, Waist, Sidecut, Taper

Volkl 173RT: 154.5 19.0 11.7 5

F2 172silberpfeil:155.5 18.4 11 0

:confused:

To the newbie seeking a first board, these boards seem quite similar. I was thinking of the Silberfeil cuz of the freecarve designation. Would the volkl be much stiffer? How much of a diff would that .7m larger radius really make? From what I've read, the volkl has more of a 'racing' reputation - but is that just marketing/brand imaging?

6'4", 175#, NON-racer. East coast hardpack. Don't intend to do bumps, pwdr, or trees with this board. I do know how to carve fairly well (on softies), so I'm not a TOTAL newbie... just new to hardboots.

More thanks to everyone for all this great info and help!

________

FIX PS3

my current ride is the RT173, and the F2 seems a little more "turny" than the Volkl. RT is a nice ride, and soaks up the rough stuff very well, and I can't imagine the F2 being better in that regard. Volkl's have a softish nose but I've never had any problem with folding mine. Both good quality boards so you can't go wrong, either way.

I tried the F2 172 Silberpfeil at the Aspen SES and was really impressed. Yes, it is a softer flex than any racing board. It turned easily, handled variable conditions very well, felt solid and held on really well when I demanded some tight, hard turns.

Many like the Volkl...I'm not one of them. I vote F2.

You are from CT, right? I would say the F2 as well. If you ride the small CT mts., the F2 will make much smaller turns and make them at lower speeds for someone who has not been carving long. The Volkl is a good board, but would most likely be harder to learn on. F2 all the way.

Originally posted by Phil

You are from CT, right? I would say the F2 as well. If you ride the small CT mts.,...