Note to New Members ×

Binding and tune-up

eos4life

Hello, fellow carver!

I need some guidance. It's time for my first tune-up on my Coiler Freecarve. The guy I saw at the shop tells me he need to remove the binding to be able to sharpen the edges and wax my board.

I'm a bit reluctant to have him take off my TD-2 for tuning my PRECIOUS!!!

Also, what should I ask for my edge sharpening?

I'm just in my second year on plates and consider myself a average rider (read need improvement on most of my technique)...

Any advice will be welcome.

Thanks, Francois.

bindings have to come off for a base grind, no matter what.

if all youre doing is edges and waxing, read up a bit and do it yourself! Its cheaper and far more rewarding. If youre not racing its not as imperative that you get dead on perfect results

just remember..when sharpening edges...you cant put material back ON them so remove a little at a time

When you have your board tuned up by a shop, if you don't take off your bindings, the shop will. They prefer to do that because this way the base is more level (the bindings suck up the base a little). So think about it: would you prefer to do it yourself or have the shop do it?

And by the way, where will you take your board to be tuned? Usually, I go to Sharks and just ask for an alpine board tune, because I am the type to bring the board to the shop, say "tune it" and forget about it and they specialize in alpine boards. I don't believe in edge bevel, base structure and stuff like that, I just want a board that works. When I go back to get it after a tune, it glides and it's plenty fast for me. I don't ride an expensive board, so that's probably why I don't worry about tuning details. It may be the reason also why I don't ride expensive boards, I don't want to worry about it, I just want to go out and ride. In my opinion, it's the rider, not the board or the tune.

Thanks, Guys!