Note to New Members ×

Some help with binding/stance needed

diveburt

I am breaking thru to much better carves but need some input as to the strap up. I ride a Donek Freecarve11 175. I have a 6 degree cant on the back foot and a 3degree on the front. Angles are 6o front and 55 on rear but I find my rear foot trying to turn in the boot(outward). Should I go to 50 rear or less to allow my foot to stay the hell down?? Is the front cant good or am i freakin' nuts. Somebody needs to run a clinic at Blue to work on this stuff!!:biggthump

If you are regular footed it sounds like your back foot wants to turn out towards the edge of your board, or to your right. This might be because you are also turning your hips the same way. If you find it happening on both heel and toe side turns, you need to square your hips more in line to the travel of your snow board. If on heelside your butt is sticking out over your inside edge, your back foot would want to turn so that it is perpendicular to your board rather than the 60 degree turn of your binding. Think about it on carpet flooring. On a carpetted floor, get in what you would think is your normal stance on your snowboard. Now bend at your knees and turn your back foot more perpendicular to your board. Where is your butt and hips? I bet its sticking out over your inside edge. You have to bring them back inside over your board a little more and drive your turns more with your kness. You may be trying solely to turn using ankle flexion. Good luck but if I were you I would try to hook up with Neil Sunday and his snowboard team. I don't personally know him but I have seen one of his riders and the kid rips.