Note to New Members ×

Any sliding tips for a complete newbie?

tpalka

My biggest issue with longboarding is speed -- don't know how to control it other than footbraking... and until I can slow down without having to balance on one foot I'm hesitant to ride any steeper pavement.

On someone's suggestion I bought the Landyachtz Evo with 65mm 75a Noskoolz and am trying to figure out the Coleman slide. Unfortunately our town just chipsealed most of the roads, so finding places to ride is pretty hard. Lisa shot a few clips of me yesterday when we were in Leadville. Am I going in the right direction and any ideas on things that I might be completely missing? Any info appreciated... Thanks,

tom.

<object width="560" height="340"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8In4CrN6Fq4&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8In4CrN6Fq4&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed></object>

Tom- I'm not the best slider in the world (probably closer to the worst is more accurate..), but it looks like you aren't really unweighting enough when you increase your angle of attack relative to your angle of motion. Consequently, the wheels stay planted and your angle of attack and motion are the same. You can see this in action in the first clip when your butt hits and the board slides out. That was a pretty interesting angulated carve..I'll have to try that some time.

Afterthought- I have no clue how those wheels behave, but 75a seems a bit soft for sliding.