Note to New Members ×

new carver, need gear

deeluxflow

i am new to the carving world.

i have been snowboarding for 10 years, and i want to start carving, and possibly racing. my only problem is money. right now i am so broke that i am not eating lunch to save for my summer trip. i need to find gear, but i wont be able to spend much. it will be especially hard for me because I am 6'1", and i have size 15 shoes. finding boots is not going to be easy for me. if anyone has any idas for finding inexpencive, yet large equipment, please help!!!

p.s. i can probably wear anything from a 13 to a 15 shoe, if it is very wide at the ball of the foot.

Guest AlpentalRider

Right now you can find lots of gear at good prices on Ebay. For you're big feet I would try and pick up the 2002 Burton Speed 168 that skiadores keeps selling. I picked up 2 of them (one for me and one for my buddy) for around $130 shipped.

The good thing about that board is that it's waist width is 225mm, which is pretty wide considering most boards are between 180-195.

It would be hard to beat that price for a decent board like the Speed brand new and unridden.

Guest Randy S.

Good luck finding boots for those gunboats! 13 is about the biggest I've seen. You might want to call Fin and see what they have laying around at Bomber. You could try them on (Heads are supposed to be wider than Raichle/Deeluxe). If you can get close, you could probably get a good bootfitter to punch them out for you. Otherwise you are looking at using some huge ski boots or having Dale Boots custom make you a pair that will have a very long sole length. A wide carving board is definitely in your future unless you like 70 degree binding angles.

If you work it out, post back here with your solution, we get people asking about this on occasion.

Originally posted by C5 Golfer