Note to New Members ×

Side Edge/Base tuning devices

Guest willb13

Guest willb13

I am just getting started tuning my own gear -- also just getting started riding a carving set-up... I bought a Dakine tuning jkit with file, stone, scraper, etc. but have quickly realized that these materials are pretty inadequate.

I am looking for a device to tune my side and base edges. Burton makes an "all-in-one" type device that can adjust from 90-95.

I have also seen angle-specific pieces of metal that are used to tune the side edge. If I used this, how would I sharpen the base?

Any suggestions about what to get? thanks so much!

Guest Jagger

Willb Go to reliable racing site and look up "Ski visions" they make an edging tool called a "ski sharp" it's an all in one type edger that will do up to 3* side and 3* base simultaneously. I've had one since like 94/95 and swear by it. Also it is really compact the tool and all of the stones will fit in a plastic sandwich bag, you can tale it with you to the slopes.,

Mike

• 9 months later...
Originally posted by cmc

Ifd you want real tools go with svst.

I agree. I use SVST guides when I file my edges. They work great, and I get a nice even and sharp edge every time.

Check out www.artechski.com for some great gear and great deals ... sure it's oriented toward ski racing, but you'll find some cool stuff, and superb service.

Note: I can't get to the site at the moment, it may be down.

Guest Randy S.
Originally posted by Jagger

Willb Go to reliable racing site and look up "Ski visions" they make an edging tool called a "ski sharp" it's an all in one type edger that will do up to 3* side and 3* base simultaneously. I've had one since like 94/95 and swear by it. Also it is really compact the tool and all of the stones will fit in a plastic sandwich bag, you can tale it with you to the slopes.,

Mike

I use the same gizmo. Its great. I definitely ascribe to the KISS approach to tuning, and that fits.

Originally posted by Jagger