Note to New Members ×

OK all you angle, lift and cant Gurus

Bobby Buggs

Do you use toe or heel lift at lower angles? Is there a point where the benefit of the lifts is diminished, like below 50 degres or something like that.Im mounting up my Nidecker Proto and going 50 or lower, just wondering. Im using my usual Heel lift back and slight toe lift front from my 60 plus angles.

Hey Bobby, I'm no expert, but in case you want to experiment with my setup -- I use flat front, 3-deg cant back. Angles: 50 front, 30-40 back. I rode with back heel lift for a while, but it seemed to tweak my back knee, so I reverted back to just back cant.

I'm knock-kneed, as well as relatively inflexible.

After much experimentation, my binding angles have settled into 55 degrees front, toe up 3 degrees, inward cant of 5 degrees.

My back angles are 48 degrees, with 10 degrees of heel lift and an inward cant of 5 degrees.

Stance width - 18.5 inches.

Bobby,

here is my 2 cents on this topic. . .

The amount of cant and lift that an individual uses should be directly related to their personal body mechanics. I know that I have 2 bad knees. . . I use them for a barometer for how my cants and lifts need to be adjusted. Basically, I set the board up . . . do a run, and pay attention to where I feel strain on my knee. Based on what I feel I will make a cant or lift adjustment to make that strain go away. When I no longer feel any strain, im good to go, and also normally, in a very good position to get the best leverage I can on the board.

If you are feeling no pain in your lower body . . . your current cants and lifts are probably pretty good.

If you are feeling pain . . . I would reccomend adjusting.