Note to New Members ×

Carving on a freeride board

guesswho

I have a 158cm burton elite freeride setup with soft boots. Is it possible? Is my board just way too short (I'm a smidge under 5'8)? Are the hardboots absolutely necessary? I am talking low speed carving here, nothing serious. I am still a beginner and just bought this setup so I cant afford to change it now. But something about carving just calls to me, lol. It looks freakin' awesome.

I have tried it at home and it is possible to angle the bindings toward the nose and lean them forward for a deeper knee bend. Am I over simplifying? I admittedly know very little about alpine.

Also, it might be important for you guys to know I live on the east coast in NYC, so I can only get to smaller mountains with mostly man-made snow, and maybe occasional trips to new england.

I have a 158cm burton elite freeride setup with soft boots. Is it possible? Is my board just way too short (I'm a smidge under 5'8)? Are the hardboots absolutely necessary? I am talking low speed carving here, nothing serious. I am still a beginner and just bought this setup so I cant afford to change it now. But something about carving just calls to me, lol. It looks freakin' awesome.

I have tried it at home and it is possible to angle the bindings toward the nose and lean them forward for a deeper knee bend. Am I over simplifying? I admittedly know very little about alpine.

Also, it might be important for you guys to know I live on the east coast in NYC, so I can only get to smaller mountains with mostly man-made snow, and maybe occasional trips to new england.