Note to New Members ×

questions on boards

Guest Reign

i'm thinking about buying a snowboard sometime this year, probably more into the year like the summer so i can hopefully get some good deals, but heres the catch. i'd really like to try carving, but if i find out i'm not good at carving, i'd like to have a board that i can still use like a normal snowboard. is that possible? i was looking at the donek axis, but i have no idea what to do. also i have size 13 feet which is like 29 mongo or whatever its called, so the board can't be too skinny. also i am only a beginner snowboarder as i have only went two times. if all else fails and i get a normal snowboard such as a k2 can i still carve a bit on those? thanks

people carve in softboots all the time. Just get a good all-mountain freeride board and carve that. If you decide that's what you like then take the plunge into a hard boot set-up. You can carve on anything.

also - I have size 12 dogs and can ride a 18cm board with 65/60 angles no problem.

I have big feet too. What I would suggest is finding a good deal on some hardboots and plate bindings and then put them on whatever board you like. With your feet, you are going to boot out with almost any board, in softboots. With hardboots, you can ride without any overhang and still choose whatever kind of board you like.

The best thing to do is demo as much as possible to see what might work best for you.

From my average experience I would not suggest an allmountain/freerideboard nor putting plate bindings on anything other than alpineboards.