Note to New Members ×

Which flex for a Vanguard

wvrocks

I'm thinking about picking up a Loaded Vanguard this spring and I'm not sure which flex pattern to get it in. I'm about 260 lbs and dropping. Don't expect I'll ever be less than about 220-230. From their chart I should probably be riding a Flex #1. I've never ridden a longboard before and I'm wondering if I should go with a softer Flex #2 because of my lack of experience? Is a softer flex easier to learn on? Or is rider weight more important when selecting a board? Thanks

________

WASHINGTON MARIJUANA DISPENSARIES

I'm no expert, been riding my Loaded for only two years, on and off. But in my opinion you'd best best off sticking with the stiffer flex. I tried a lesser flex board and it just felt like a noodle -- at even low speeds I was decambering the deck and it didn't feel good. I wouldn't be comfortable going on that board at higher speeds. Hope this helps,

tom.

I've got a Loaded Pin, Flex 4. Yes it is soft, but at sub-150lbs, it is just perfect for my weight and style. I would like to try a stiffer board, but don't see the need; it would only come in handy if I were going faster.

Contact Loaded, that's what I did. But at ~250ish, I think the Flex 1 is right up your alley. IIRC, flex 1 is for anybody over ~180lbs? Go for it.

What wheels/trucks will you be using? I've used Randalls and Seismics: Both offer very distinct ride/turn qualities, but for me, the Seismics win. But I don't bomb hills, I carve them at sub 15-20mph.

I was leaning toward the Flex #1. I think I'm going to go with Randal RII 180's with either Flashbacks or Gumballs in 75a or 78a. Probably Flashbacks to start with since they won't be quite as fast as the larger gumballs. I really have no base to make decisions on other than what I've read. How does the ride of the Seismics differ from the Randals?

________

Latinahorny4Ux