Note to New Members ×

Matte Finish Contact Paper.

bumpyride

I've been covering my boards with Contact paper for 9 years now. Primarily I've used the Jersey Cow Pattern that has been discontinued. I just bought 3 more rolls off of ebay.

This paper has stuck very well and the upside to using it, is I get more complements from kids 12 and under on my cool board.

After experimenting with the different kinds and patterns, the only other one that has worked really well is the matte finish clear. The gloss clear delams after a couple of usages, whereas the matte stays on.

When applying it to the board, peel it half way down, and leave the backing under the other section, and start from the middle of the board to the end with a sweeping motion from side to side to get all the air bubbles out of it. Then go back to the middle and peel the backing off slowly to the other end with the same sweeping motion.

Then take one of those small breakaway razor knives, hold it at a 45 degree angle and cut using the edge of the board as a brace for the razor. Make sure that you don't leave any section of the paper over the edge of the board. Any excess will be sure to collect snow and peel it off.

I have one board that has had the same paper on it for 9 years, and the matte finish one that I used it has seen at least 120 to 150 days in the bumps, and has not delamed either.

Hope this helps you out.

The other upside to this is that barring a catastrophic slice, the stuff can be peeled off and the board topsheet will be like new, and hardly even a mark from the bingings.

another good way to get a good cut to the shape of the board is the same thing used to apply grip tape to a skateboard...

take a fine file and run it around the edges, and THEN take a blade to it, gently. with practice you can get it perfect!

contact paper...like...for cabinet shelves?

its waterproof?

Originally posted by Jon Dahl