Note to New Members ×

Binding height, boot height, and leverage

snovvman

My K2 Clicker setup puts me (via my Clicker boots) very close to the surface of the snowboard when I ride.

My hardboot setup, along with Deeluxe X-Bone and step-in heels, puts me much higher on the board, away from the surface of the board.

Articles seem to indicate that a bit of "lift" (in this case, I mean total elevation and not toe or heel lift) offers the rider additional leverage. I'm having trouble seeing this.

In terms of pure physics, I'd imagine that there comes to a point of diminishing returns--that is--if I stand so much higher, and farther away from the surface of the board, I wouldn't be able to control the board properly and I would actually lose leverage.

The hardboot setup feels unnatural when I try to stand up and when I ride. I know it takes time to get use to, it just seems more "right" when I am closer to the board.

Clearly, I am new at this. Someone please educate me.

Thanks!

JAMES.

I'm not an engineer and I don't have any insight into the leverage issue but your reaction to the difference in height is exactly the one I had when I first ventured from a soft set-up to hardplates.

On the soft setup I was standing right on the board and could feel the board flexing. Being close to the board felt secure and in touch with the balance. Then I tried hardplates and it felt like I was on stilts. I didn't like it at first. All I can say is eventually I got used to it.

Well, I'm glad I'm not the only one. Thank you for your reply.

I realize that the elevated position is necessary for trench-digging, but are there any leverage/control-related side effect?

For casual riding or mixed-terrain riding, when one must negotiate steep/bump or is required to "skid" rather than carve, how does this elevated riding position affect things?