Note to New Members ×

New to Bomber

Guest Redman

Guest Redman

Found this site yesterday and just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Kris but most call me Red. I've been riding for 17+ years but only once have I ridden hard boots.

I recently started teaching snowboarding again at Butternut Basin in MA. I previously taught there at the end of the 80's and into the early 90's.

I lived in Summit County CO in the mid 90's before I moved back to MA. I rode A-Basin all the time I was there and miss that place a lot!

As I mentioned earlier, I've really only ridden softboots the whole time I've been riding. Now that I am a little older, I am much more into carving as opposed screwing around with tricks and such. I can lay down a sweet trench with pretty much any board unless it's a freestyle board. But I'm now thinking I would like to ride the correct tool for the job.

I'm probably going to start out with something used. More than likely a Burton FP164 which I've seen quite a few of in the classifieds. I'm not really sure what to do about boots and bidings at this time however. I am thinking that these 2 pieces are so key to the overall performance of the setup that I should get equipment that is as spec'd out as I can afford. I was checking out the Bomber TD2's for the binders and really don't have enough info to make a decision on boots at this point. I really am in no hurry to get a set up but would like to have it ready by next season.

I am a pretty aggressive rider and like to haul ass but the hill I ride on is a bit on the small side. I'm not opposed to working the board on shorter turns all the way to the bottom but prefer longer GS style carves. What advice do you have for someone like me?

Redman

BTW, this site is an excellent resource and just pretty much rocks. I'm stoked to have found it!

Hey, I was at Butternut this past Saturday! :D It is small, but there are a few trails perfect for carving.