Note to New Members ×

TD1 Standard Rear Bail

Chubz

Folks

I am new to alpine and recently picked up a set of TD1's (standard) and my most challenging thing yet is getting the rear boot into the rear binding. I'm old and not as flexible as I used to be. The rear bail of the binding is semi-loose (stands on its own) and falls flat when I attempt to slide my boot into it. I have tried to tighten the bail but it remains loose. any recommendations to keep the bail rigid or methods to ease binding entry would be greatly appreciated. It is my understanding that the newer TD1's have a spring but the ones I have do not.

Thanks

Greg

....is there anything they can't do?

Though I think Mark Anderson's donut is a better suggestion here, I'll offer what I've done in the past until I can afford to send the bail to Bomber for a retrofit.

I use one of those micro bungees (from a dollar store or ChinaWal-Mart) and hooked one end to a bail stem and ran the cord underneath the baseplate (and in front of the disc) and hooked the other end to the opposite side's bail stem. I also use a set of needle nose pliers and close the hook ends of the bungee around the bails. They usually hold for a season and then I change'em out. PSR taught me that one years ago.

Now that I have TD2's I don't have to worry with this problem anymore.

Mark

post-101-141842200157_thumb.jpg

Hey Greg, I assume they arrived safe then? Wish I had known about those 'Fixes" , good ideas. Another one that is not nearly as good. If you take one shoulder bolt off and either bend the bail out a little bit or place a turn on one of the bails. This sort of puts it in a bind and it doesn't move so freely. I doubt if that solution will meet with many takers , perhaps a few cringes? Those moved very well and they were adjusted really good for my boots. So I left them alone. They didn't get used much after I bought newer bindings. At 47 , I enjoy the step-ins ALLOT!!

Enjoy!! Bryan

Hey Greg -