Note to New Members ×

Splitfire questions

BlueB

So I've got the elusive Split... Feels awsome.

However, I have few questions for the experts:

1) How much de-wedging (from level) majority uses for slalom? I found the 35* base with 13*-16* to work ok, but would like to hear from more experienced.

2) Does anyone flip the hanger around and what is achieved that way. From experience with Randal 110 (trimmed 125) as the rear truck, it changes the feel quite a bit...

3) Bushing recommendations?

4) Finaly, the difference in feel of the Gen1 Split (Tracker base) to later Gens (Randal bases)? Mine is the Randal base version and it feels, well, like a sophisticated Randal...

So I've got the elusive Split... Feels awsome.

However, I have few questions for the experts:

I'm not an expert, but here's how mine is setup:

1) How much de-wedging (from level) majority uses for slalom? I found the 35* base with 13*-16* to work ok, but would like to hear from more experienced.

Aboot -9* on a 28* baseplate. Essentially the same as your -16*.

2) Does anyone flip the hanger around and what is achieved that way. From experience with Randal 110 (trimmed 125) as the rear truck, it changes the feel quite a bit...

I don't think Splits were designed to do this. You might end up with the hanger crashing into the baseplate. I'd check for hanger/baseplate clearance if you try it..

Mine is set up with a homeade Retro 89a Jimz shape boardside, homemade Retro 89a Stim shape roadside.

3)4) Finaly, the difference in feel of the Gen1 Split (Tracker base) to later Gens (Randal bases)? Mine is the Randal base version and it feels, well, like a sophisticated Randal...

Dunno, I havent' ridden a Gen1. I have ridden Airflows, which are quite similar to Gen1 splits, and they feel a lot alike the Randal based split.

Thanks Curt!

I don't think Splits were designed to do this. You might end up with the hanger crashing into the baseplate. I'd check for hanger/baseplate clearance if you try it...