Note to New Members ×

Grandpas snowboard club

UK40

As you get older we get wiser and that states "keep your board and feet on the ground". I did not go to a hard boot set up till I was around 53 yr - have given away most of my skis to friends. I need and want to stay without injury - too much golf to play and many days ahead to ride the snow.

cheers Uldis - you are pretty young kid.:D

I would have to say that you can get injured staying on the ground too. Stay strong including your shoulders and arms and rip. I f you are relaxed and comfortable getting some air, just do it. When you get into your 50’s you should still be able to rip it up if you stay strong and keep an interest in the sport. When I started riding I went from skis (tele) right into carving. I am glad that I kept at least one pair of skis because after a couple of years they can be fun again at times.

Grandpa.....40??? I didn't even start until I was forty-two. Innumerable bumps and buises, a couple of concussions, a broken collarbone and dare I say, bruised ego later, I consider myself a fairly proficient albeit not expert carver! I'm currently fifty eight, still laying out respectable trenches and looking forward to reaching "Grandpa" status....thank you very much! BTW...purchasing a helmet has limited my concussions to two. :) (knock on wood)

Originally posted by C5 Golfer

As you get older we get wiser and that states "keep your board and feet on the ground". I did not go to a hard boot set up till I was around 53 yr - have given away most of my skis to friends. I need and want to stay without injury - too much golf to play and many days ahead to ride the snow.

cheers Uldis - you are pretty young kid.:D

thank you, last year i infected my older

brother(45) with hard board too, he

was a skier like i was . you can't imagine,

our higest mountain in latvia(east europe) is 311 m,

longest track 350m.

:( thank you for advice

post-1292-141842199043_thumb.jpg

Originally posted by Miguel