Note to New Members ×

Be nice to me, I am new

Bora20

Hi All!

I am new to the hard-boot world, but love to carve on my current soft-boot setup. I don't play in the part and hate riding fakie. I think that hard-boots are my calling and I am trying to get into it.

I am 5'9, 215lbs, size 9 street shoes, so I think I need to look at some decent gear so I don't overpower it.

I just purchased a Zeena X11 159 as my starter, beginner board which I think will be much too short in the future, but should be fine for now.

I am searching for some boots, which I am trying to figure out sizing on. Not too sure on that and think I might go try on some ski boots to try and help with that.

I am pretty sure that metal bindings will be the only way to go. Step-ins or regular don't really matter to me as either will be much easier that my soft-boot bindings. I used to have soft step-ins, which I loved, but then the industry moved on.

Anyway, thanks for all the info on this site and I hope to see a couple of you out there on the slopes!

Welcome aboard! Great place to get any info you want or need for hardboot riding. I would get the fitting boots you can find and a good set of moldable liners. Will make riding a lot easier and more comfortable. Nothing worse than ill fitting boots to get started on. Will make for a painful bad experience :smashfrea

You can certainly get some ski boots as a start. You are probably Mondo 27 or 27.5. I ordered snowboard boots from this site and I wished I could ski with them because my Deeluxe boots are far more comfortable than my Solomon boots-I really like the cuff cant adjustment on the Deeluxe, you ask ski shop people about cuff cant adjustment and they look at ya kinda funny. I ordered Cateks at one time but I was actually more comfortable with the Raichle X-bones I got from here as well. I rode mostly freeride when I was riding hardboots. In a slightly duck stance, too (old knee injury).