Note to New Members ×

HELP - Need advice on new board...

maxlean

Well this is sure to start a war. Now that I've unloaded a bunch of my quiver (many thanks to you guys) I'm ready to get a new board. I don't need one, but, hell it's still cheaper than a crack habit. I have some diverse requirements so I may end up having to get two boards; it's ok, I'm willing to make the sacrifice.

I've been carving for 5 years and weigh 160 lbs. I really want to try a metal board - I've heard so much about them.

My current favorite board is a Silberpfiel 172. I really like this board. It has so much better damp, edge hold, and power than all of my Doneks. So, since I don't know how to spell Silberpfiel I go out and look at the board. In reading the specs I see the following "v30 quadrax titanal." Holy s**t, I've been riding a metal board for a year and didn't even know it! Talk about your blind taste test. I'm sold on metal.

Back to my requirements:

- I really want to try some EC carving (but I don't necessarily want wider stance angles - just like being in line).

- To facilitate EC, a big sidecut would be nice.

- I like fast edge transitions

But, also:

- I'm dating this rad chick who is an extreme skiier who wants to do some big mountain steep (40-50 degree) pow terrain. (But, I refuse to do the ski-to-base-jump with her).

- She likes my long stick, but I don't think my long snowboard is going to work here.

Suggestions?

PS How do you pronounce titanal? I personally like tit anal; kinda reminds me of that Jessica Simpson comercial where she say's "I don't know what that is, but I want it..."

Robert