Note to New Members ×

binding postion/ Nitro Scorpion

mackDan

OK, I've been riding hardboots for about 8 years, have a couple boards (164 Oxy Proton, 162 Hot shine, etc..), which I ride just fine, carve good stable ripping carves.

I just bought an older used Nitro Scorpion 160 (thanks Dan) which I took out to the mtn today. I set the bindings centered on the board, at 56 degrees front, 55 rear. I rode the set up for a while and the tail seemed like it was catching early on the toe turn, the heel turn would not carve well, mostly skidding. I tried to adjust my weighting on the board (leaning forward, sitting on the tail). After riding for a while and not feeling like it was working very well I moved both bindings to the rear by one binding spacing (Catek OS2, about 1 cm). Which seemed to help a bit. The toe turn still felt pretty good, but with a bit of nose chatter/slip/grab. The heel turn was better, but slipping a bit. On the flats the board seemed to be catching edges a bit more than I'm used to.

I tend to ride front boot unlatched, rear latch at 3 deg. The rear binding is toe down slightly canted outside (rearward), the front is slightly toe up and canted inward (New CATEKS!!!).

A. anybody got one, and where are your bindings?

B. anybody ridden on and have any suggestions?

C. any suggestions in general?

TKS

I have some 163 Nitro Scorpions. I rode them new back in '93, '94, '95. They were sweet and held on any ice you could throw at them. I still have one that I take out occasionally as a rock board. It doesn't hold anymore and washes out on firm snow. I found that after riding a Scorpion hard for 75 days +or- it lost its ooomph and wouldn't hold as well. I think these are great boards but they get old and tired.

I know your board is old but how many days does it have on it? Another question...Does a board loose strength just sitting in a closet?