Note to New Members ×

New Carver -- need guidance (Gunstock/King Pine)

Race30

Hey guys/gals.

I'm new to the scene- i'm a washed up ski racer (high school... now 28 y/o) - picked up my first board a couple weeks ago- having never ridden a snowboard before.

it's a 90's "Look" "Over Speed" - no pics of it on the internet because i think it was born before the internet :)

Anyways- i'm looking for someone who frequents either Gunstock or King Pine to give me 4-5 runs worth of advice (I don't want to hijack your whole day/night) on how to take me from my current ability level: crusing adequately well, sliding heel & toe side

-to-

actually carving

A bit of me thinks it's the board setup i've got 

other parts of me thinks it's me

I generally try to get to either of Gunstock or King Pine on friday night.

Anyone up for the challenge?

Thanks,

I was at Gunstock on Sunday but hadn't been there in probably 20 years-it's only an hour away for me. It was a slush fest so hoping we pick up some more snow. I'm not far from you in the nberwick area. If I head to either place, I can drop you a PM. Happy to help where I can. Boots are key #1, then you can worry about board/binding interface. I remember my early days of trying to make Lange's work for carving-eventually didn't buckle them and discovered that I needed something else to make that work.

On 1/22/2017 at 8:26 PM, Race30 said:

Hey guys/gals.

I'm new to the scene- i'm a washed up ski racer (high school... now 28 y/o) - picked up my first board a couple weeks ago- having never ridden a snowboard before.

it's a 90's "Look" "Over Speed" - no pics of it on the internet because i think it was born before the internet :)