Note to New Members ×

The perfect setup

Guest peterk

I was reading the on the nose thread with great interest and y'all really got me wondering...

how do you tell what the proper settings are for each of the following areas. That thread got me thinking about a lot of things and has me wondering about others not mentioned. I know this may sound like a total newbie question but hey... that's what I am. And I'm hoping it's still early enough to avoid forming all many bad habits

:)

1. board length / shape - I assume this has more to do with intended use and the size of the rider than anything else.

2. cant / lift for front and back - having just gotten a cant (I've ridden with nothing front or back so far) this is going to be interesting.

3. binding angles - boot size and board width matter, as does avoiding toe and heel drag. What else?

5. fore / aft of binding (also, is there an easy way to find the middle of the board?)

6. distance between bindings - this and the previous one are something I'm tinkering with so I'd appreciate any guidance. Then again, I just added a cant so I guess I'm tinkering with everything that moves!

7. something I've missed that really matters? And is there somewhere that has all this already layed out as a "start here" template for folks like me? I've seen parts of this in various places but not the whole picture.

I'll be the first to admit that I have no idea what I'm doing, just that I really enjoy doing it and it's always been my experience that doing it "right" (yes, I know that's a personal thing) makes it more enjoyable. In exchange, I will be happy to give set up, tuning, etc advice (or even help in person for folks in the Toronto area) for anyone into bicycles... this I know about.