Note to New Members ×

5-hole to 4 hole conversion(?)

Guest silversurf

Guest silversurf

I dusted off my Burton PJ (the first model made circa '89/'90) and got all sentimental about riding the big brute. I had sold the two different plates I owned when I was actively riding it as well as the boots. As time went on I just shelved it and moved on.

So I'm wondering if anyone has ideas on converting the 5 hole pattern to a 4-hole that'll work with TD's or something. Another option might be to go find some old 5-hole plates and see if they'll fit my Deeluxe's (non-Stepins).

Any thoughts, anyone dealt with this that wants to share?

Regards,

Colin S.

Colin, I work in a shop and back when Burton did the transition from 5 hole to 3D, I used to do a ton of T-Nutting of Burton 5 hole boards to convert to 3D, before then, I'd T-Nut to 4-H. If you can find a shop to do it,I think it will be expensive, not to mention I think you'd rip the board to shreds with a T-nut job and Trench Diggers installed. PJ-s are dime a dozen on ebay, best just to check there and pick one up cheap. I just passed on one for sale yesterday, it was a PJ 6.8 and it came with plate bindings. (And it was a 3D model). Opening bid was $45 with no reserve, shipping 40 bucks for a complete board/binding package. I thought the shippping was high so i passed on it, USPS Priority should only cost about 25 to ship a board in the Conti USA. The other alternative would be to again check the bay of "e" for some 5 hole Burton plate bindings, I've seen at least a pair a week for the last month which would work on your board, and I've seen them as low as 10 bucks a pair.