Note to New Members ×

RollerBlade wheel question.

Arje_Vandemeer

Not sure exactly where to post this question, as the longboarding section probably doesn't deal much with rollerblading.

Anyway...I am wondering if anyone has come across a truly rubbery rollerblade wheel. The reason I ask is because the standard rollerblade wheels are made of quite hard material (urethane? polyurethane??) and mine, at least, tend to skid out on small pebbles and such...often with painful results! I think they skid on these pebbles easily because the wheel material is relatively hard. I am not an engineer, but it seems the hard urethane or whatever would have lower coefficient of friction, maybe...and would that cause skidding??

So, I am thinking if one could find wheels made of real tire rubber, they wouldn't skid out on pebbles and such.

I realize the rubber wheels (solid rubber...not air-filled) would probably need replacing much more often due to wear, but where I skate, there is LOTS of small pebbles on the paths and often sand. Sand and pebbles are not the rollerbladers friends!!!

I've searched, and I've haven't found any solid tire-rubber wheels for roller-blades, but would sure like to! Anybody know?

They definitely make softer durometer wheels that will be more forgiving. However they also wear fast.

On rubber, although I have not seen any solid black rubber type inline wheels , I have seen/used the pneumatic (very large) tires for the off road type skates. I used to skate on something in between. Larger diameter soft wheels on a 3 wheel framed inline skate, it sucked up the rough surface better than anything else I had tried.

Bryan.

Rollerblade Outback X