Note to New Members ×

Gear selection for a beginner

qowah

I've been riding (soft) for about two years, and recently my mind was blown away by a couple of carving videos and conversations with some hardboard folks at a nearby resort. I am dying to try it out now, and I'm going to ask for some advice, please :)

I've read all through the Carver's Almanac and some forums and spoken with people, but I still haven't decided firmly on which gear to get. I am 5'11'' tall and weigh quite too much for the height -- 210 lbs. My current plan is to buy:

• a long-ish Donek Axxess or Prior 4WD -- I'm thinking 179 cm (is it too long? Should I go with a shorter one?). (I was also thinking of a SWOARD :), but I have some doubts about it from the learning perspective -- as I said, hard board and boots are all totally new to me.)
  • Not the stiffest boots, e.g. DeeLuxe Track 325.
  • Some step-ins (Bomber TD2 Intec?)

Does this list even make sense?

While primary goal is to try carving and love it, there's an obvious secondary too, which is to spend as little cash as possible :) Would I be able to find any of the stuff on the list used (I'm guessing, used boots+bindings are a possibility, not sure about the board, though, considering its length)?

One more thing: I live in the SF Bay Area and the closest snow to me is Lake Tahoe. Am I right to assume there's no chance whatsoever to find any of the gear in offline shops? I'm okay with online/shipping, too, just wanted to check.

I would greatly appreciate any help and/or suggestions.

I would recomend a slightly shorter board, with about a 11-13 radius. Also depending on your (boots size) I wouldnt get too wide of a board, I think a 200-205, reason is, if you boot angles are too low, I personally think you will learn to ride with bad habbits, IE, youll try to ride with a soft boot style, like the diff between riding a motorcycle and driving a car, if you get on a 4 wheeler, its not really a motorcycle.