Note to New Members ×

I can finally post!!

crazyTKDsquirrel

woot woot!

Anywho, hey everyone! New to the board here...I have some questions that I'll try to make relatively quick since I'm planning to go to Silver Mtn or Lookout in the the morning. :)

First a little background. I'm pretty new to snowboarding (about 1 season), but I'm not necessairly a "beginner". Apparantly my learning curve was pretty steep. :p I love speed and eventually want to do some serious carving. I have a problem though:

147.jpg

As you can see my setup is quite pathetic to alpine standards, but it's all i have right now. :( Angles are 48F/42R with Fifty-One Fifty bindings and Rome SBs. The board is a Bodyglove 156 that I got from a former racer (friend). I've tried to find some info about the board, but haven't found anything. Is aggressive carving even possible with something like this? haha. I've only tried this angle setup once at Tamarack in Idaho, and I guess it worked pretty well...I guess we'll find out tomorrow. :freak3:

I've been reading a lot while waiting for my account to activate, and I read that it would be alright to get boots and bindings with my existing board and eventually upgrade to an alpine board. My questions are:

What is a good boot that I can get without breaking the bank? How about bindings? I don't want something that I'll outgrow (skill wise) in a couple seasons, but I also don't want to spend toooo much (maybe 500 for both boots and bindings? Or am I going too cheap on those?).

And finally, keep in mind I'm a poor 18 yr old college kid, so I don't exactly have that going for me either...:o

For those of you who have read my long first post, thank you and I would greatly appreciate any and all advice!! I've heard this was the place to go for anything alpine.

Thanks again!!