Note to New Members ×

Carving Technique and Skateboarding

modifiede30

I'm a bit new to the whole technique of carving although I've been sliding around in hardboots for quite a while - I simply liked the control and speed it was able to generate.

Over the last few months, I started searching for new bindings and one thing led to another and I found a wealth of info that made me realize I was using the board totally wrong.

Now that I'm starting to really carve, I'm finding some of the weight transfer motions of carving are very similar to what I used to feel when I was riding a skateboard on a ramp - at least in terms of putting weight into the board to obtain more force on the surface. For skateboarding this was for increasing speed, for carving, it seems its to catch more edge.

I've searched around and haven't seen reference to this so I'm wondering if I'm just wrong, or doing something I shouldn't be, but wanted to post to find out. Any comments welcomed.

I def feel a similarity between carving and skateboarding. Especially a well excecuted heelside on snowboard is very similar to pumping a heelside on slalom deck. Also same body inclination. After more than usual slalom skateboarding this summmer I feel my carving got a lot better. I have done mostly hybrid courses which I think have the most similarity to carving. Check out Pierre Ramsay from this pic I took during a session this summer:

post-506-141842229695_thumb.gif

Very cool picture. I've been thinking hard about grabbing a longboard this summer, and if its anything like carving I'd be all on it. Sorry can't help you with the technique thing, but good luck.