Note to New Members ×

Binding angles for kids - a little OT

Guest thomas_m

Guest thomas_m

New member here. I've been surfing for a good while but I'm relatively new to snowboarding - brand new to carving but I'm hooked since it is similar to some of what I look for in wave riding.

The question at hand... Taking my 6 year old to the mountain for his first boarding session tomorrow. I've gotten him a rig well suited to his size but I'm wondering how to set his bindings. I was thinking about 6/21 since he'll necessarily be doing a lot of side slipping. Anyone think I should go more relaxed like 0/15 or more forward like 10/25? Reason why?

It's easy to experiment on myself but it's hard to get feedback from him being 6 and all. I'm mostly concerned with him being comfortable and having a good time.

TIA,

Thomas

I have two young snowboarders (8 and 11). Both kids skied for 2 years before trying snowboarding. Skiing is just more kid friendly for so many reasons.

If you're extremely patient and determined, allow me to offer a couple of tidbits of advice:

- don't even think about getting in any riding yourself. You'll be too busy chasing, picking up and dusting off the kid.

- consider taking the kid to a local toboggan hill. Less hassle, less crowds, less driving and you can quit at any time without wasting a lift ticket.

Good luck.

Oh, and about binding angles - doesn't matter much but I always recommend 15 degrees front, 8 degrees back for the beginner. Believe me on this - binding angles will be the last of your worries.

Guest thomas_m
Originally posted by skategoat

I have two young snowboarders (8 and 11). Both kids skied for 2 years before trying snowboarding. Skiing is just more kid friendly for so many reasons.

If you're extremely patient and determined, allow me to offer a couple of tidbits of advice:

- don't even think about getting in any riding yourself. You'll be too busy chasing, picking up and dusting off the kid.