Note to New Members ×

USASA / Racing in MN?

Guest bboyd

Any MN locals on this board? Does anyone have experience/info re alpine racing in the Minnesota area? I checked the USASA website, and saw they have races at Afton and other area spots, but wanted to know if anyone has tried these, what's involved, etc. I'm new to snowboarding w/in last 3 yrs, but would like to work toward getting involved in some low-key local races for experience and something to keep the skills developing. Anyone with info? Thanks!

i'm sure kent will eventually reply, as he's the one setting the courses at the races.

you should come out to afton this weekend! the races are a good time. we do 2 runs of gs, and 2 runs of slalom. all ages are welcome. and if you're fast, you have a good chance of making money. $50 typically to the fastest man and woman in each event, down to $10 for 5th fastest.

if you want more info, like time and cost, call 'the alt' bike and board shop in mpls. they're the fine folks who put on the events.

hope to see you at afton on saturday.

-trent

Trent - thanks for the follow-up. Although I'm moving toward alpine, I currently only have a freeride set-up, and have NO experience in racing, but think I would like to try it. Since I have yet to acquire a helmet and am waiting on my Donek Incline (I just ordered it), I think I'll have to sit this one out - but I do plan on coming to Afton to watch, and to ride on Saturday. Have you raced? What type of equip are the average racers using? Any freeriders / softbooters? Can a person learn to race in the race, or do I need to find a way to get some trial runs outside of race time? If so, any idea how to do that around the area? Clubs, etc? Thanks again. Maybe I'll see you Saturday.

Q - I currently only have a freeride set-up

A - No problem...as long as both feet are on the same board.

Q - NO experience in racing

A - Gotta start somewhere!

Q - I have yet to acquire a helmet