Note to New Members ×

Carving runs at Whiteface

Marker

I can only tell you, go early and hope that there is not too much ice. Whiteface should really be called Iceface, the conditions generally are horrible. Any of their long diamonds will not disapoint if there is not too much ice. THis year, thanks to warm weather however, things have been better. Upper Runway and upper Parkway are the hills that I see the most psychotic carving being done. Hope this helps and I hope your board survives, whiteface almost always does serious damage to my board if I ride the whole mountain.

I've been skiing (since 1976) & riding (since 1993) at whiteface a long time.

It depends on your skill. If you like the steeps, try "Cloudspin" or "Skyward".

"Parkway", "Thruway" & "Drapers Drop" are awesome! these three are "Off the beaten path" trails that only the locals seem to find & are usually well groomed becase they are used for race training & don't get a lot of traffic even on crowded days. During the week you'll have them all to yourself. :biggthump they are my fav's.

When your legs get tired Excelsior is a ton of fun, it snakes down the Mt. (Load CCR's "Run through the jungle" in your ipod for this one") only problem is that the main gondola, the most popular lift on the mt, dumps all the yahoos off right at the top of Excesior & on a busy day it's bumber to bumper traffic. During the week IT IS FUN!!!!! :AR15firin

Excelsior takes you to the bottom of the summit quad, take "Easy Street" or "Broadway"(these two give your legs a rest but are still fun) to "Boreen", Boreen is one of my favorite runs carving or otherwise, it's just steep enough for 30-45 mph or so but long & flat for worry-free-easy on the legs fun speed(watch out for kids!).

These are the runs I enjoy the most when carving Whiteface.

As with any Mt. get there early to carve, they do a tremendous job with maintaining the trails but it does get icy after 1pm or so if the winter has been in a warm & freeze cycle.