Note to New Members ×

leg fatigue and binding setup?

Guest owaysys

Guest owaysys

Hi guys, I'm hoping someone can cast some light on a problem I've been having lately.

Over Christmas break, I rode a 178 Volkl Renntiger with the same angles, cant, and stance width on my bindings that I've been riding for the past ten years. I rode all day for two days and had no leg fatigue.

Since then, I bought a 183 Renntiger and have been riding it with the same binding setup. I'm having crazy leg fatigue to the point where I can't go more than 3 runs without completely blowing out my front leg.

I know the 183 is a lot stiffer than the 178, but could that be the reason for my muscle fatigue? I feel like such a wuss, but this is just crazy. Has anyone had similar experiences when moving to a stiffer board?

sounds like you are trying to overcompensate with the longer board. Thus wearing your legs out faster. I do work a little bit harder to ride my longer board- Liberation 185 than my rentiger 173 but not that much harder. I also don't ride the liberation if the snow is choppy as it is too much work to keep from being bounced around. Also I like to use a stiffer boot with those 2 boards- Head Stratos pro. I tried riding with the Raichile lemans but had trouble holding an edge well on harder snow conditions. I use the lemans to ride all mountain on a prior 4x4 174. This boot is way softer than the head boot. I weigh 185 and am 5'10''. You will get used to the longer lenght board after a while. You might try riding only part of the day on the longer board to start until you are more used to it. I hope this helps. The longer board will make it more fun to do bigger longer turns without slowing down.

This may sound a little silly, but are you comparing them correctly?

Same snow, same mountain, same shape, bindings....etc.