Note to New Members ×

The AASI manual and carving...

brodster_57

I have been into carving for about 5 years now and have been through my USSA Level 1 Racing Clinic. This is my first year instructing true beginners, so we are doing our AASI certs. I think the program is wonderful and the AASI manual is so far the best General book to snowboarding I have seen. However my own experience and research (especially some of the info right here on Bomber) seems to have its differences. I do understand that the AASI book is a general snowboarding guideline and Bomber focuses on hardboot high angled carving, but the same techniques can and should be used on soft boots and low angles as well. My question is that AASI lists two tpes of carving:1. Basic Carving and 2. Dynamic Carving. Their Basic carving seems to be a very basic Cross-Over technique and Dynamic Carving seems to be very similar to the cross-under techique. It seems like they over look any benefits of a GS style turn in everyday riding and consider Cross-Under as the "Real " way to carve. Has any else noticed? Please leave your thoughts because this is bothering me.

Guest dragonfly jones

There's the American way - psia aasi - the Canadian way, French style, Swiss, Austrian and German and on and on. The basics that each teach are things to build on. I taught snowboarding, raced snowboards and now coach racers, as long as the fundementals are in places, you can do lots, the manual talks about basic moves and as a coach and instructor you know that the cookie cutter approach is hardly the best to use all the time.