Note to New Members ×

Ski Computer

bartron

Degree of slope? Vertical descent speed , yes?

I have been using the Avocet Vertech for many years. Simple , nice big buttons you can activate with gloves on. Only real bummer is they keep going in an out of production. That and the battery is somewhat expensive to have replaced. I have tried several others over the years and they tend to be almost too complicated. However , the Suunto has some really cool features , like being able to link to the computer! Vertical descent is calclated via the pressure drop/ time rate. I don't think it knows the angle? Could be wrong. I use an inclinometer for avy and snow study. Again, pretty simple stuff. Bryan

I have suunto x-lander for everyday use and it has a log book function in it somewhere but prefer as Bryan does to use my old trusty avocet vertech for skiing/boarding. Its simple to use and is a great gage of how much vert/runs you do on a day or season. Bryan introduced me to one up at MHM many years ago. Sometimes ebay has some deals on new vertechII's....

Jim