Note to New Members ×

Can freestyle board/softboot carve?

Guest bitslizer

Guest bitslizer

as you can tell, I've no experience with carving. I'm infact fairly new to snowboarding.... my skills level is being able to go down the easier black diamond at Vail without killing myself :) I don't really do jumps or rails yet.

so I came across the carving site and took an interest in carving but I got mostly freeride/freestyle equipment(Burton Clash, Flow Binding, Burton freestyle boot). Can I learn to carve with these equipments? or must it be done with Hardboot/Alpine board?

The simple answer is YES, you can carve on your average soft boot/freeride board setup.

Or if you have a desire to see the relative merits of soft-boot carving vs. hard-boot carving thrashed out to a ridiculous degree, read <a href="http://www.bomberonline.com/VBulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1704">this old thread</a>.

And check out <a href="http://www.bomberonline.com/VBulletin/search.php?s=&action=showresults&searchid=27456">Boostertwo's posts</a>. He has a nice habit of attaching time-lapse photos of soft-boot carving to his posts.

Guest motopilot

I used to ride only plates/race boards because of the performance. But to be honest, not that I do not love riding a 180+cm race board, I can rip just as hard on the freestyle setup in soft boots as well. You can carve on anything, equipment and terrain, once you have the skills to do it.

I have never been on a board with hard boots. I am currently learning how to carve with my softboots just because I don't have any other way to practice. Whenever I try to make really sharp turns my toe's or heel's catch and I skid out.

I am curious as to what stance angles other people have used. I am at 20 15 but it's not enough, maybe I should try steeper.. yeah.. thats all

Originally posted by philistine

...Whenever I try to make really sharp turns my toe's or heel's catch and I skid out.