Note to New Members ×

Donek metal FC 171 first impression

PointBreak

I was lucky enough to demo a new metal Donek Free Carve 171 X 11/13 X 20 at the ECES and I thought it might be helpful to share my impression of the board.

<O:p</O:p

First, a little about me. I have been riding for about five years and in hard boots for only about a year and a half. I have however, had a chance to ride some high quality boards from Coiler and Kessler and Madd as well as a few not-so-hot mass produced decks.

I demoed the FC on Friday at ECES at around 1 pm. Conditions that day started quite good with lots of corduroy and sunshine in the morning. By 1 pm things were still okay but some areas were getting skied off and there were piles of loose snow scatted about.

I was really surprised how easy the metal FC was to ride. The decambered nose / tail and hammerhead nose made the board easy to skid around in traffic when needed and then initiated smoothly and carved with ease no matter did. When I leaned over the nose it was fine, weight 50:50, no problem and even when I found myself in the back seat it didn’t seem to mind. The ride was quite damp similar to my Kessler yet if you shifted your weight back at the end of the turn it still responded with enough pop to lift the nose and launch the board into the next turn.

I was particularly impressed how well it plowed through the piles of loose snow without flinching and just kept carving over the scratchy sections and rollers without any problems. No matter what I did the board never lost edge hold and the larger tail radius released cleanly and allowed me to decide if I wanted to scrub speed caving across the hill or stay on the gas changing edges closer to the fall line. Overall this board was super easy to ride and made me feel like a better rider than I really am. All I can say is WOW.<O:p</O:p

Great review, Pointbreak!