Note to New Members ×

Dampness vs. stability vs. flex vs. ....

Peter Vu

I cut/paste a short discussion from another thread here in case others can help me understand more on board and equipment design.

Basically I have questions on the meaning of “damp” or “stability”.

From my windsurfing background, I can (humbly) assert that a heavy epoxy board is “stable” and even “damp” in windy and heavy chops which is a comfy ride.

On the other hand, a full carbon super light board would be too “unstable” and too "lively" but an expert (not me) would love it.

Here are some random questions

- Is it possible to draw the same conclusions to carving boards?

- Since I am not an expert, is “lively” actually a bad thing in the carving world or is “damp” recommended?

- Is heavier equipment recommended for a light weight person to make the ride more “stable”?

- Due to my 130 lbs, am I equipment-weight sensitive?

- If the answer is “yes”, then should the board/bindings/boots manufacturers design lighter equipment to meet smaller rider needs? (This means better equipment for women to pick up this sport ). Michelle, what is the feedback you had from other female riders on equipment? Too stiff? Too heavy? improvement suggestions from female riders?

- Back to my windsurfing background....It took some 30 years for the industry to focus on lighter equipment for women and children. I would like to question whether the current equipment is properly designed for lighter riders. It's always possible to customize a board but how about bindings and boots?

Thanks beforehand for your replies :biggthump

Pow

-pretty much, except that a snowboard's dampness is felt in its flex pattern, while a windsurf board basically has no flex pattern.

-it depends more on your taste in boards and your style of riding, id say its more personal preference than anything. a very active/aggressive rider wants a lively board to match, while a smooth graceful rider will want a calm, damp board.