Note to New Members ×

Stiff softboot recommendations?

Guest claudio

Guest claudio

Hi guys -

I'm new to Bomberonline, and to carving in general. I've been freeriding for 15 years and over time, I've been increasingly carving. I think I will eventually migrate to a hardboot/carving setup over time, but want to transition there via a hybrid/softie setup.

I just bought a Prior ATV 167 with Catek Freeride Pros, to replace my prior Salomon 450 166. I weigh ~ 185/190 lbs, Mondo 28.5 size boots, and I would like to keep the stance angles as low as I can without toe drag.

My question is the following: I currently have Salomon Malamute boots and people here seem to think they're reasonably stiff. They are an older model (2000 or 2001), so no thermal liner. I've heard lots of good things about Thirtytwo boots and am thinking of upgrading my boots, too.

Will getting Thirtytwos make a big difference in the setup I will have? Or will the Malamutes be fine for now? Also, I know everyone likes the Thirtytwo Forecasts (stiffest), but the Vaders look sick to me. Has anyone tried Thirtytwo vaders in a softie carving setup? Any perspectives on the Vaders would be very helpful.

Thanks in advance.

Claudio

Wow! Awesome sounding set up there. I think that Lonerider and KJL (look for their user names and email them) have experience with similar set ups. You are going to kick some serious a$$ when you get on hard boots after this transition. Then again, if you have the fancy straps on your Cateks, you might not need hard boots.

Update your profile with location info so others here know where you are and can ride with you.

I've ridden 2000/2001 and 2001/2002 Malamutes, both are plenty stiff for carving especially in Catek Freerides. I still have the 01/02's.