Note to New Members ×

The next step… (beginner help)

Corey

I’m just getting into carving after riding on freestyle equipment since 1987. I did carve on the freestyle stuff, but was never able to get very low to the snow. After a few days on alpine equipment, I’m not so sure that it was an equipment problem as much as a rider problem...

So, to get a good start on my new (to me) alpine-specific equipment I read and re-read all of the articles in the Tech section and tried to apply them. I understand the basics of cross-under and cross-over. I found that the motions of cross-under are quick leg extensions to bend the board quite sharply under your feet. I was amazed at how tightly the board will turn if you time this extension properly and really load up the board! To graphically demonstrate, I was able to achieve this, but not so stylishly! Trying to load the board in the same way in cross-over was not so successful, the turns always ended up being very large radius ones that I could just as easily achieve on my freestyle board.

The big questions I have are:

1. How can I make larger direction changes at the tight radius you can achieve in cross-under turns? I can’t seem to mentally bridge the gap between these quick, short, and powerful turns to longer but still tight turns. How do you keep the board fully loaded for a longer duration? Is it a matter of loading up the board to start the turn and then letting centrifugal force keep it flexed?

2. I’m still experiencing heelside chatter on some turns, especially on longer ones. I’m working on keeping my knees flexing throughout the duration of the turn and facing the nose, but I think I’m still missing something. I noticed I could reduce this chatter by driving my rear knee laterally towards the heel edge of the board, but this stance/position feels awkward. Am I on the right path?