Note to New Members ×

Some tuning questions

snow|3oarder

Is it possible to scrape too much or too hard? (with the plexi glass scraper)

Also, when I waxed my donek (im new to this) I used dominator zoom all temp, which happens to be black in color. I noticed some small black streaks remained after i scraped off the wax. Should I be concerned?

I noticed some swirl marks after using my iron....I assume this is coming from the iron...any tips?

Also....Ive had trouble sharpening my edges, so I usually ask to get that done professionally. What tools are best for easily sharpening edges? Is there some secret that im missing?

or graphite and it does leave some in your base, no worries, its not a bad thing just kinda ugly, on the upside its fast in dry snow.

some bases such as the bases Rosignol used to use on some boards are very soft and can be damaged if you scrape too hard, not the case with any of my doneks though but I have had some weird buildup on my iron, I would understand this if I used high temps but I don't

just make sure your iron is not too hot, make sure it melts the wax but does not burn it and that you don't keep the iron in one place too long.

I've tried about 18 different waxes on skiis and boards and have *never* noticed a difference when I ride in any snow condition. I used to hot wax my boards and not even bother scraping. I let Mother Nature do the scraping. Now I scrape and structure with a brush but again, I don't notice any difference on the snow.

This year, I'm going to experiment and try parrafin (ya, that stuff your mom uses for canning). Will it slow me down? I kinda hope so.

that **** is crazy fast in the right conditions.

when different waxes really count is when it is very cold/dry, warm/wet and when the snow is old and granular, for the latter its more about protecting your base than speed though.