Note to New Members ×

Heel side skid-out

Guest Padraigh

Guest Padraigh

Anyone give me some tips on how to prevent skidding out on the heel side of my carves?

I've been riding for 4 years now, but JUST got my first set of alpine snowboard boots (Head Stratos '04).

My set-up is aggressive. I'm goofy, with front foot at around 80 to 85 degrees (whatever the max is with orginal TD step-ins). My back foot is around 65 to 70 degrees.

I'm riding a Rossingol Dualtec from 2002. At 200lbs I think I'm pushing the limit of my 158cm board.

Perhaps I just need to widen out my stance... any thoughts/tips/help?

Much appreciated.

Guest Padraigh

http://www.alpinecarving.com/#Technique

Dealing with Chatter

Chatter can appear as two phenomenon:

The tail of the board feels like it is oscillating back and forth, causing you to leave wavy trenches. It happens because the head and the tail of the board are each trying to carve a different radius. To fix this effect, don't maintain the same static pressure during the turn. Instead, apply dynamic pressure using a few techniques:

Progressively shift your weight from forward to back throughout the turn

Progressively increase your angulation throughout the turn

Progressively twist your upper body towards the inside of the turn.

The entire board chatters, especially on heel side. A few remedies include:

Don't break forward at the waist, otherwise you will take pressure off the tail, causing it to skid out.

Angulate to keep your weight over the carving edge.

Get the board high on edge sooner

A stiff setup on bumpy terrain is not a good combo.

Do not tense up your legs, otherwise you will chatter the board and skid out. Relax your muscles.

Originally posted by Padraigh

http://www.alpinecarving.com/#Technique

Progressively increase your angulation throughout the turn