Note to New Members ×

New Here, have questions on sizing

icebiker

Greetings, as you can tell, I'm a newbie to this forum. Occasional lurker, but finally got around to signing up. I have a basic question, but have searched the newbie forums (no content) and FAQ (no content) to no avail, so hope some of you can help out.

I've been boarding for 18 years, gradually working toward a carving style over the past 8. I ride what I guess you'd call an all mountain setup (Supermodel 174, Torque 3-strap bindings, airwalk freeride soft boots). Part of my delay in moving to a full carving kit was the challenge in finding hard boots large enough. I now have a set of older Burton Reactors and plate bindings. Tried them on the Supermodel at the end of last season, wasn't wild about the set up. The board felt overpowered, like the camber was too soft. So, I'm in the market for a stiffer (but not race-stiff) carving stick and need your advice on what to consider. I have read the Carver's almanac (very helpful), but here are the questions that still remain:

a) for my size/weight (6'3", 190lbs), what range of total length/running length should I be considering? I tend to prefer blue groomers in the AM, then would switch to the Supermodel for post-lunch runs.

b) which manufacturers run toward the wider waist widths?....given my foot size and preferred stance angle, I'm looking for something around 25 cm...surely they make carving boards for us Big Foots, yes?

c) if I was looking for a slightly used board, which brands hold up best? I have been a Burton rider since the beginning (with a brief daliance with a Kemper in the late 80's), so that's all I really am familiar with.

I'm sure I'll have more questions later, but answers to the above would help me get started.

Thanks in advance folks,

Greg

what size boots do you have?