new to carving

Guest OlderBoarder

Guest OlderBoarder

hello all, i have been freeriding for 7 years, and just switched to a SIMS Carve II 167. since i already use K2 Yak boots and Clicker bindings, i got a set of Clickers for my new board as well. i know everyone is gonna recommend switching to hard shell boots, but i feel i'm getting good response/feedback/control from my current setup.

my biggest adjustment seems to be the forward stance, and carving as opposed to skidding my turns. i ride goofy foot, and i ride almost exclusively at Mt. Wachusett, in MA.. it's 35 minutes from work and 30 minutes from home, and they do a good job of illuminating it at night, the crowds are less, and it leaves the weekends free for more sane activities like ice racing motorcycles! Wa grooms all three summit trails in the evening, so i even get some decent cordouroy.

my questions are: how do i initiate turns so i spend more time carving and less time skidding, and how low (crouched) should i be getting so i don't feel like i'm gonna fall over, especially on my heel edge turns? at 47, i wear a ton of body armor, including hard shell knee protection, a kevlar trials helmet, and a Joe Rocket Phoenix jacket that has double armor on the elbows, shoulders and spine. i'm not afraid to crash in order to improve my skill sets; but i wanna feel as protected as possible. i also don't bounce like a teenager anymore. any advice/tips would be appreciated, and i'm always looking for other like minded carvers to ride with. Bob

Guest DruckenCarver

Make sure to get some hip protection, too. You can get those from various skate or BMX shops. When I was learning to perfect that heel edge carve and when to start leaning I bruised my hip pretty bad because the fastest way to "get there" was to start leaning too soon. :)