Note to New Members ×

Burton Step-On Ion vs Photon?

Jack M

My 6 year old Driver-X's are falling apart.  Also I've come to terms with the fact that I'm not a softboot carver.  If conditions are good enough for softboot carving, they're good enough for hardboot carving which I prefer.  SO, it's finally time for step-in bindings!

Of course I do like to rail some carves when softbooting, so I figured I'd just get the Ion and be done with it.  However the Ion has the same old speed lace system as my Driver-X, and I was hoping to get away from that and evolve to a Boa system.  I believe the Photon is the next stiiffest boot (right?) and it has the Boa system.  Will it be too soft?

Photon riders, do you wish the boots were stiffer?  Anybody tried both?

@Jack M, yes I have tried both and I am a Driver X fan as well for my regular Softboot setups in the past.

I had about 60 days on my Ion and StepOn X setup and am at 40 days on my Photon and StepOn X setup.

Ion is a little bit stiffer but with the Boa on the Photon I can get the boot laced tighter across my entire foot

I wish the Photon was a true dual Boa but sadly it is really a single Boa with the lacing setup to the dial in a two zone style (so not a standard symmetrical lacing pattern either).

The snugger strap does help for heel hold and for stiffening the flex of the boot (if you want stiffer forward flex make it tight, if you want more surfy feel leave it very loose).

I switched to the Photons as the toe-box area is a little wider than the Ion and I am very happy with them. I do like the Ion better but even after heat molding the liners, I could not get the newer pair to fit my feet comfortably and I even tried a pair of heat molded Intuition SBC liners in the Ion and still had problems.

I also purchased a set of Flux StepOn bindings from Japan to compare setups, so on the binding side of things it goes like this (softest to stiffest):

Burton Genesis<Burton ReFlex<Flux SDR<Burton StepOn X.