Note to New Members ×

Racer looking to graduate to Hardboots... possibly

Justin

Hello,

I race in a league at Shawnee peak in Maine and have been riding an F2 WC Carbon with stiff union bindings and stiff Solomon softboots for race nights. 

I've been racing SL and GS for about 7 years. @Jack M was on my team for a few years actually. 

My times have been improving but still I have a long way to go. I've been eyeballing a F2 Eliminator WC titanal 166W and Now O-drive bindings for the upcoming season,  but I'm also considering getting a hardboot setup and trying to make myself actually competitive in the slalom. What do I do? Go for the slightly better softboot setup and know that I'm going to possibly improve slightly, or go for the hardboot setup knowing that I'm going to suck at first but will eventually start posting decent times? 

6'0", 190 lbs. 

Hi Justin!  The short answer... nobody races World Cup or even NorAm in softboots for a reason.  However, becoming faster in a course on hardboots than you are in softboots will take time and practice.  If you only race in hardboots and do all your other riding in softboots, it probably won't happen.  If freecarving on an alpine setup is of interest to you, then I'd say spend as much as you can on good gear and you will become faster in the long run.  It's been a while since I've seen you ride so maybe it won't take long at all.  A good test is if you are already carving confidently on your existing gear.  That is, can you carve your downhill edge and fluidly make repeated carves with no steering or skidding?  Honestly I don't recall if you were doing that already or not, sorry!

You'll want a 162 or 163 SL board, and I have to say my stock Kessler 180 was a dream in the Shawnee GS courses.  Not a fun board to freecarve, but man it just knows where the next gate is.  It took seconds off my times compared to my previous long freecarve boards.