Note to New Members ×

hard boot suggestions 2021

Chisolm W.

I've been riding a carving board for 20 years.  I have an old Burton carving board, and old burton boots.  both about 20 years old, i don't know the models off hand.

I've been researching new boots, looks like the main options available are Deeluxe, and UPZ, both in various models.  I'm not a racer, but i want to be able to get as low to the snow as possible on turns.  that's what makes me smile at night.

my current boots are uncomfortable in places.  they fit well, but they pressure my ankles and shins in certain turns.  The Deeluxe 325 looks like a comfortable option, but i worry about it not being stiff enough for steep carving?  but i'm afraid the stiff racing boots will be too much for me, or is that my imagination? again, speed isn't my goal, it's sweeping, wide turns with arm on the snow.

any suggestions would be great! and thank you in advance...   

Also, any suggestions on new snowboards that would fit my style?  I'm also not sure what to seek there either.  I'm guessing the stiffer, the better?  I haven't bought any new equipment in 20 years, so it's time for me to splurge on expensive new stuff vs. used. :)

Thanks again,

-Chisolm

If you have a good boot fitter then either company can work.  I have a very wide  forefoot and narrow heel yet contrary to common wisdom my Raichles (now Deeluxe) work for me. Punching out the shell and some modern heat moldable liners did the trick. 

For stiffness, my boots are softer than 325s but they work for me. Other people prefer stiffer. Personally I think the 325s would be fine for recreational carving.