Note to New Members ×

Advice for a soft booter!!!

Guest Thomo

Guest Thomo

Okay guys - I need your help.

I've been boarding for about 7 - 8 years. I currently ride a K2 Zeppelyn 158 (yep a pipe board). Stop groaning! I have Vans soft boots with Boa ties and Switch step-ins (43/30 degrees). I love to carve (stop laughing) and love the sensation. I can't understand boarders who flap down the mountain without any grace or even an attempt to flow, my problem is, is that whilst I am tempted by hard boots etc I don't want to give up doing back country and the odd jump (I don't do tricks just jump moguls etc).

I can get my hands on the floor using the Zepp but not to the degree that you boys do! It feels dodgy at full pelt as well, though generally is a great all round board. Is the technique the same when you have such severe angles on your bindings? You look as though you are just sticking your hips from side to side, which is not what I want to do.

Final question is this. As I don't live near a mountain and board 2-3 weeks a year I have considered getting a board that 'appears' to do everything - the F2 Speedcross is one example. Am I limiting myself here? Would you keep the Zepp and buy an alpine board with hard boots and just take both on holiday?

Any advice would be welcome.

:(