Note to New Members ×

Need a little advice!

I have been riding alpine for about 20 years on the same board an Airwalk 167 Force. I originally had softboots on it, but about 12 years ago I switched over to some Raichle hardboots and Deelux bindings and loved it! The board is getting really old now and i'm wanting to trade up. I have found a used F2 175 Speedster, but I am wondering how much of a difference will the 7cm make to my ride. I generally ski on local groomed hills that can be icy, lumpy, bit of everything, but fun. I occasionally get up to Mont Tremblant too. Is the F2 board the type I need? As my current board is such ancient technology is the trend to go shorter? So should I be looking for something else?

Length is only one variable in the board decision matrix.  Sidecut, Sidecut profile, flex and width are more critical factors.  What angles do you like to ride at? What speeds and turn size do you like?

The modern carving boards are unreal.  They make riding fun in the widest range of conditions.  

If you want the perfect board, call one of the North American board builders and they will build you a dream board.  Getting a custom build is a spectacular experience and will guarantee you years of great joy.

• Like 1

Thanks I will look into it. I like going fast and I am getting into deeper longer carves, but with all local hills the conditions can be icy, wet, perfect groomed trails, but as the day wears on they get lumpy with moguls, or soft slush in the later season. Really I need an all round board, something that allows me to go fast and enjoy great craves, but I need it easy enough to manage lumps, moguls and ice. I would love to say I am in powder, but that is not really a reality in northern NY. My current board is a 167 with a 26 nose and tail and a 21cm waist