Note to New Members ×

Sense Carving Pro 179 and 174

DjulezD

I had the opportunity to join a test ride organized by Sense in Phoenix PyongChang, a Korean ski resort (host of the halfpipe events of the last Olympics). Sense is a Slovenian brand founded by Andrej Cerne, manufacturer of snowboards and sports equipment (mountain biking, kite, ski) in the trade since the 1980s. Sense also manufactures race and competition boards but I did not test them.

For a quick background, I am a rider of 1m80 and 78 kilos. I have been riding snowboards (hard and softboots) for over 20 years.

In general, my very first contact with the board was pleasant. The base, the edges and the finish of the topsheet are all top notch, with a pleasant grainy touch of the topsheet. The graphics are not very exciting, yet.

The first board I demoed is the Carving pro 179. The main specs are a radius of 16m and a waist of 20cm. This allowed me to ride with fairly low angles (48/43). I settled my bindings in the center of the inserts and dialed in my usual stance.

My first impression was that the board very easily enters the carve and does not move from the rail. The grip is perfect at the end of the curve and it is very easy to link J-turns.

I decided to give it a little more speed and engagement. I found I could make deeper and lower turns with the same ease.

After that, I tried various combinations of more complex trajectories and found edge to edge change quick and without difficulty. However,  the board didn't strike me as being snappy or extra responsive.

I also found that the board handles speed very well and remains stable, especially when carving at high speed. But it does not call for it if I may say so. Although larger than my usual board, I was not too much bothered by the size, especially for turn initiation.