Note to New Members ×

One day in Aspen + 2 days

rjnakata

I have  trip planned for early March  and I have one day to carve in Aspen - Saturday March 14.  This is my first time in Aspen!  Where should I go for the best carving?  Aspen, Snowmass, Buttermilk, Highlands?  Thanks!

I also have Friday the 13th and Sunday the 15th for Denver local mountains on the Ikon pass: Copper, Arapahoe, Eldora, Winter Park, Steamboat, Winter Park.  Again I don't know a thing about the carving at these resorts...all new to me.  

thanks for your insight!

Edited by rjnakata

There is good carving to be had at all 4 Aspen areas. Buttermilk has some great carving with very few people. Most of it isn't very steep but very nice. Snowmass has a lot of terrain and many different slopes to choose from. Highlands has some great carving slopes but you have to go through some less-than-ideal terrain to get to the bottom. Aspen Mountain has some carving favorites: Ruthies and Copper Bowl. 

My personal favorite is Buttermilk for the great grooming and lack of crowds. 

12 hours ago, JohnE said:

There is good carving to be had at all 4 Aspen areas. Buttermilk has some great carving with very few people. Most of it isn't very steep but very nice. Snowmass has a lot of terrain and many different slopes to choose from. Highlands has some great carving slopes but you have to go through some less-than-ideal terrain to get to the bottom. Aspen Mountain has some carving favorites: Ruthies and Copper Bowl. 

My personal favorite is Buttermilk for the great grooming and lack of crowds. 

Wow, Buttermilk sounds great.  We're not steeps carving hard chargers (daughter and I) and like to avoid the uber skiers.  For example I prefer June Mountain, CA (smaller, less crowded, close parking, nice people, great snow) over Mammoth (mammoth).  I wish I had more days in Aspen.

7 hours ago, Pat Donnelly said: