Note to New Members ×

Beginner Needing Advice...(what's new?)

jonny.a

Hi! Longtime lurker, first time poster here.

I'm new to the hardbooting world and...well...trying to work out if it's something I want to continue with. In short, I bought some used gear and have tried it out a few times but really don't feel like it's working for me - the only problem is that I don't know if it's ME or the GEAR (or how I have it setup). I don't feel like I have much control when I'm on my hardboot setup, especially at slower speeds.

The conditions I've ridden in have been FAR from ideal for carving, and that's where my problem arises: in reality I want a setup that I CAN ride (happily) all day in all conditions. And I want to be comfortable.

I've ridden softboots for quite a long time, but would call myself "intermediate-pretending-to-be-advanced" standard (in that I can ride quickly and completely in control, but never really progressed into carving in softies).

The reason I wanted to try hardbooting is that I love the smooth freecarve style. Not really interested in the "ExtremeCarve" style. The forward stance and hard boots seem to be perfect for that. I'm not fussed about switch riding or tricks/jumps or anything. Just want to be able to ride smoothly and comfortably all day.

My current setup: Raichle 213/TwoThirteen (???) boots, Volkl RT/Renntiger 173 board with basic Volkl bindings.

I'm 5'10 (178cm), 78kg (172lbs), and UK size 10 feet (Mondo 28.5).

Basically I want to know: do I need a different boot/board setup in order to ride comfortably on all conditions with hard boots? OR should I just quit and get a stiff softboot carving setup instead?

Like I say, my priorities are: smooth freecarving & ALL DAY/ALL CONDITIONS comfort.

Thanks in advance (and also thanks in arrears for all the advice I've taken from this forum so far!)

Jonny

Edited by jonny.a

Thanks @lonbordin!